Transfer paths guaranteed for Maine Community College Grads

Community college graduates in Maine can now transfer directly to degree programs at six of Maine’s independent four-year colleges under a new agreement. This initiative is part of the Maine Transfer Guarantee, a statewide effort to establish systematic transfer pathways between the state’s community colleges and four-year receiving institutions.

The participating independent colleges include University of New England, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, College of the Atlantic, and Saint Joseph’s College of Maine. These institutions have committed to guaranteeing admission to eligible community college graduates, providing a clear and seamless transfer process.

The Maine Transfer Guarantee enables eligible community college graduates to transfer into participating four-year institutions with admission guaranteed. This program not only simplifies the transfer process but also ensures that community college credits are fully recognized and applied towards bachelor’s degree completion.

The guaranteed transfer pathways are a significant step towards increasing access to four-year degrees for Maine community college students. By providing a clear and predictable transfer process, the state is helping to remove barriers to degree completion and promoting educational attainment. The Maine Transfer Guarantee is a model for other states seeking to improve transfer outcomes and support the success of community college students.